Florida has a cold (for Trayvon Martin) by Robert Gibbons


March 28th: ABC News EXCLUSIVE: A police surveillance video taken the night that Trayvon Martin was shot dead shows no blood or bruises on George Zimmerman. The initial police report noted that Zimmerman was bleeding from the back of the head and nose. His lawyer later insisted that Zimmerman’s nose had been broken in his scuffle with 17-year-old Martin.

This is an countdown to see just how many days will pass before we will see justice prevail for Trayvon Martin and his family. Stay tuned this week as Men on Reel shares heartfelt words with us. Fourth up is “Robert Gibbons.”

 

Florida has a cold (for Trayvon Martin)

this time I ride up Florida mango
the threat of a hurricane
it had been so many times
we missed the furry the flurry
we never had snow but we always
had a storm the rain sweeps
me up Okeechobee Boulevard
and I have fallen once again
in the middle like road kills
we always stop for a family
of ducks in Wellington
and we beg them not to disrespect
our children the ones the color
of tamarind the ones the color
of the cherry bushes who has feet
the color of muck the ones who
learn to tinkle beneath the trucks
with grandpa and I never can
disown my mother but I feel
like a bastard peddling your name
around the world you once
my favorite girl but I feel like
a ward of the state your poinsettias
a blood letter your popsicle
orange burns beneath a Buruntu moon
your palms croon innocence
and soon God’s gonna blow out the sun
the craters are not big enough
to fill this gape this race hate
it is better if you join the
confederation instead
of distinguishing
yourself as the New South
I feel rape and yellow police tape
morgues me it tortures me
because I your native son
am submerged into a liquid grave

Robert Gibbons

COMMENT

