Tuesday’s Love Jones – The Color of Love!

Comments 16 Standard

The Lovings were an interracial married couple who were criminally charged under a Virginia statute banning such marriages. With the help of the American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU), the Lovings filed suit seeking to overturn the law. In 1967, the Supreme Court ruled in their favor, striking down the Virginia statute and all state anti-miscegenation laws as unconstitutional violations of the Fourteenth Amendment.

The First Interracial Marriage In America

The law to criminally charge someone for marrying outside of their race has been abolished since 1967, so why do we still treat it as a crime, especially in the black community

If we truly look at the numbers it’s NOT even enough black men for every black woman to have anyway! The numbers just don’t match! Let’s take 100 black men. By the time you eliminate those without a high school diploma (21 percent), the unemployed (17 percent) and those ages 25-34 who are incarcerated (8 percent), you have only half of black men, 54 percent, whom many black women find acceptable and according to an online study, even that percent drops.  It was determined that there are only three black men who fit this list for every 100 black women in America.

Personally, I don’t think “race” should ever play a part when it comes to love. You really can’t help who you fall for no matter what color a person is.   However, I do have a problem with black men and women that have been brainwashed by society that purposely CHOOSE to date or marry outside of their race due to self-hatred. By that I mean, people that hate their own race enough to NOT want to procreate full blooded black children. Well, none of us are really full blooded, but yall know what I mean.

If I may continue on a deeper level of this topic, I hear a lot of black women bashing black men that prefer women that look like “Kim Kardashian”…but in all actuality, what other examples of beauty have been portrayed. Yes, we do have many black women we may look up to as examples, but other than Michelle Obama…these woman usually have to googled.

What we really want to know from you all today is:  Do you believe people should marry outside of their races? Should there be a color of love.  Thank you for joining “Tuesday’s Love Jones” – we look forward to hearing from you on this very touchy subject.

In a group setting, please read the comments that come up in this topic. A special thanks to everyone for voicing their opinions over at “Steamy Trails Creative Writer’s”.  Be sure to join the fan page over to the left and drop by our website at www.mystilettodreams.com

Have an amazing day 🙂

16 thoughts on “Tuesday’s Love Jones – The Color of Love!

  1. Law have never actually represented how most of the world actually feel about whatever has changed. Especially one that represents a particular group. As a black woman, she was outcast as wanting to be with a white man, just as much as he was for being white and wanting to be with a black woman. Blacks nor whites probably cared about the law…And changing laws DOESN’T stop the hatred, the biases, or emotions affiliated with these types of subjects…

    ~ Eddie Lamar Sharpe Jr

    Like

  2. I think our society used to represent more blind discrimination then than do now…I just think there are different levels to why hatred is abundant within interracial dating…These days, black women take it as a personal hit when they see black men with white women.

    I don’t really know how it is the other way around because I don’t know how black men feel about seeing a black woman with a white man…I dont think black women are that significantly attracted to WHITE men, nor are there an abundant of white men who want to be with black women these days. I know white men have a problem with white women dating black men…I had one of my white friends tell me that he couldn’t see himself talking to this white chick because she had slept with a black man…I don’t think white women have much to worry about either, cause like I said before…White men aren’t lining up to be with black women…There are so many dynamics to this thing…But there is still a significant amount of people who give “those looks” when it comes to interracial dating…ESPECIALLY in the south.

    If you don’t live down here, then its a bit different.

    ~ Eddie Lamar Sharpe Jr

    Like

  3. I think it depends on intent for me. If I know a black woman is only dating a white man because there are “No” good black men, then I take that kind of personally…I know I am a good black men…But to generally see it and not know, or KNOW that is not the case…I’m alright with it.

    ~ Eddie Lamar Sharpe Jr

    Like

  4. So much I wan to say, until I dont even know how to say it!!!! Having lived in two different types of cultures, I believe the like or dislike is heavily influenced by the region you live in. As Wil already indicated, the South is seems to be more opposed to interracial dating than say, the Western region. I live in California and all around me are nothing but interracial couples. It appears to be very readily accepted. However, I also lived in Detroit for nearly 20 years and I can count the number of times I witnessed interracial couples. The black men in California are certainly NOT lovin up on the black women like they are in Detroit. Interestingly enough though, I believe its still more acceptable to see a black man dating anyone else but a sistah, than it is for a sistah to be seen dating anyone else but a brotha!!! I dated a a very nice Hispanic gentleman for a little while and got so many hate stares, I almost didnt want to go out in public. It bothered me, but it didnt bother him. I thought it was interesting seeing as how this is the melting pot of the nation – good ole California!!! However, I totally love my black men.

    ~ Donna Whitaker Barnes

    Like

  5. That’s what I say…There is just something about a black woman that is indescribably desirable…It’s not in any other race…I think a part of it has to do with the love I was shown by black women as a child. They were the ones nurturing me, holding me when I needed to be held, wiping my tears…I grew up in a racist city in Lanett, Alabama and I came home crying many a day from white people treating me some kind of way…I just love black women. No denying it.

    ~ Eddie Lamar Sharpe Jr

    Like

  6. Why is race a determining factor when it comes to love? My husband & I teach our children that they should love the one that loves them best. I find it amazing that in this century we are still more concerned many times with the outward appearance rather than what a person may have growing/festering on the inside.

    ~ Tonya Harrison

    Like

  7. I don’t think its about love…There are so many things out there that has race as a determining factor when it should be. As a society, we have been conditioned by slavery, civil rights issues, and just mere differences to keep certain levels of separation between our different cultures. Those different aspects just tend to trickle down to things like love and relationships. And with venturing out into different races of dating, there is somebody in your family that won’t be happy…It’s a part of the societal expectations of the ones who lived during extreme racism, and our desire to keep our families happy…

    ~ Eddie Lamar Sharpe Jr

    Like

  8. I see Eddie…you may be onto something there. The people that generally have the most influence in one’s life (mothers and fathers) when it comes to these matters, really weren’t that influential in my life. I attended private school, which was very much diverse, and therefore I “fell in crush” with a variety of folks. My husbands grandfather is a white Irishman & he has dated outside of our race before. His mother never really expressed opinion one way or the other & his father was nonexistent in his life.

    ~ Tonya Harrison

    Like

  9. Michelle obama is HOT. and for fellas who google it up ethiopian women are amazing beautiful too …

    kim kardashian is pretty, but the first time i saw her on tv and she opened her mouth to speak… that whiney/nasally/valleygirl/dizzy … i was thru.. i dont know how anybody can dig that. self absorbed whiney shallow .. cant do it.

    ~ Dale Preddie

    Like

  10. It really is the same if you put the shoes on the other foot…Light skinned men USED to be the extreme crave for a lot of women…It seems to be changing around, but I just think the reaction is the significance…There is already a shortage of black men from death, war, and incarceration…I just think the idea of the already diminishing black men in their limited numbers moving to another race, distresses black women. It seems sometimes like its a whole movement of feeling like they are not wanted, and subconsciously the way to fight that is with anger…Sometimes the anger is directed at the black men, sometimes it is directed at the white girls and Kim’s…but sometimes I have seen it directed inward, which i have to tell my beautiful black women not to take those feelings there.

    ~ Eddie Lamar Sharpe Jr

    Like

  11. The problem is that our media is NOT promoting the black woman< unless she is loud and buffoon -like, or,homely and intelligent, or a vido ho, or of mixed race background. Black Girls Rock on BET is making its year rerun of exhibiting many pretty black women, but once a year, certainly is not enough.

    ~ Donna Whitaker Barnes

    Like

  12. To Donna Whitaker Barnes, I dont think its just specific to the black woman…I think it is the black race…The last person who was put on blast by media buffonery was Antwan Dodson…The stupid Hide ya wife, Hide ya kids dude…There are many more powerful, positive black women in the media light these days than there are black men if you ask me…Condalezza, Michelle Obama, Oprah, Maya Angelou…Our black men out there fighting for causes aren’t doing it right these days…They are playing their role as race baiters…If there was no racism, we wouldnt know who Al Sharpton or Cornell West were…Because they seek out the racism and help create some of the seperation that we experience.

    ~ Eddie Lamar Sharpe Jr

    Like

  13. I think it is an issue of dealing of what is familiar and comfortable culturally. My mother did not want us to date or marry Americans. (For those who don’t already know, my family is Jamaican) She wanted us to marry Jamaican because, “At least if the other person is cussing you out, you will know what they are saying.” She was pretty adamant that she did not what us bringing home a white mate either. She would have accepted latino because of the cultural similarities (we are part Cuban too, and we grew up in a mostly Dominican community.). Why do the cultural difference matter? Because if there is a difference, there is going to be compromise. Everyone thinks their ethnic group is the best..nobody wants to give up the best of their culture to accept what may seem to be the lame part of another culture…and then there are the children to think about…what will you teach them? What will they hold on to, what will they dismiss? Will they be raised to be black, white, Jamaican, Dominican? It won’t be 50/50 upbringing. The relationship is bound to lean more to one culture than the other and society has the expectation that you choose a side: Are you all of this group or all of that group – hybrids are not accepted.

    ~ Nike Binger Marshall

    Like

COMMENT

